Settings can be copied to one company from another company, or to a consolidated group via the copy settings link at the bottom-left of the Settings screen. This link is available in the company Settings, in steps 3-6 (Chart of Accounts, Select KPIs, Set Targets, Set Alerts).

Simply choose the company or group you are copying from, and then choose from the following options:

  1. KPIs - copy the configuration of the "Select KPIs" page, including KPIs, categories & importance
  2. Targets - copy the configuration of the "Targets" page, including target values, and whether each KPI's targets are set from the budget
  3. Alerts - copy the configuration of the "Alerts" page

1. Chart of Accounts

If "Chart of Accounts" is ticked, the COA layout and settings will be copied from the company you have chosen.

This copy includes:

  • Account classifications (Primary and sub-classifications)
  • Account order
  • Custom account headings
  • Heading/sub-heading hierarchy

For more information and instructions on how to copy the COA layout, see: Copying Chart of Accounts layout between companies or groups.

2. KPIs 

If "KPIs" is ticked, the configuration of the "Select KPIs" page of the company Settings will be copied from the company you have chosen.

The copy includes:

  • Category Names
  • Category Order
  • Fathom & KPI Library KPIs selected in the master company. Not-relevant KPIs will also be copied, but marked as not-relevant in company being copied to.
  • KPI Order
  • KPI Importance (also indicates whether a KPI is enabled).
  • Note: existing KPIs that are not in the master company will be disabled.

The copy excludes:

  • Any KPIs which are not from the organisation’s KPI Library.
  • Any categories which include only company specific KPIs.
  • Financial KPIs and any Formula KPIs that depend on the financials, if the company being copied to doesn’t have financials.

3. Alerts
If "Alerts" is ticked, the configuration of the "Alerts" page of the company Settings will be copied from the company you have chosen.

The copy includes:

  • Whether an alert is turned on or off
  • The threshold of the alerts

4. Targets

If "Targets" is ticked, the configuration of the "Targets" page of the company Settings will be copied from the company you have chosen.

The copy includes:

  • Whether to use Simple or Variable targets
  • Whether budgets should be used for target values (if the company being copied to has a budget)
  • The target values for KPIs which the master company has in common with the company being copied to.

The copy excludes:

  • Target values for KPIs which exist in the company being copied to, but not the master company, or vica versa.
  • Budget values are never copied - only the underlying target values which would be used if a KPI was not set to use budgets.

Copying settings to and from consolidated groups

Copy settings can be used to copy all of the above settings from an underlying company to a consolidated group, from a consolidated group to an underlying company, or from one consolidated group to another group.

When Chart of Accounts settings are copied to a consolidated group, the account classifications in the consolidation will never be changed. The consolidation will always reflect the account classifications which have been set in Step 3 of the Settings for the underlying companies in the group. Copying settings from an individual company will not overwrite the classifications already set up in a group.

When copying KPI settings to a group, company-specific KPIs will not be copied to the group. For a custom KPI to be active in a consolidated group, it must be added to the KPI Library, and to each underlying company in the group. 

Did this answer your question?