When to use Advanced Permissions
Once a user has been granted access to a company, Fathom allows you to manage the company settings steps, analysis tools and report types that a user can access. Here are a few example scenarios where Advanced Permissions can prove useful.
Enabling a 'Client/Viewer' user to change settings without letting them update data (or vice versa).
Restricting a user from accessing a specific analysis tool (eg. the 'growth' analysis tool), to focus their attention on other tools and concepts.
Allowing a 'Client/Viewer' user to set targets for their company but restrict them from changing other settings.
Preventing a user from accessing or viewing 'Draft' reports or 'Custom templates' but retaining their ability to view 'Published' reports.
Allowing a 'Client/Viewer' user to edit draft or published reports.
Customising Advanced Permissions
When inviting a new user into Fathom, the Advanced User Permissions are the third step in the invite process.
To change a user's Advanced Permissions,
Forecasting Permissions Explained
View Forecast Builder Permission
If you’ve invited a user with view-only permissions, they will not be able to edit, create or override any actions. They will be able to open and view the sidebars that display the value and timing rule, as well as access the global settings (to view only).
Users with no Forecast permissions can still see Forecast components if they have been added to a report. They can only edit these reporting components if they have the ‘Edit reports’ permission (under Reporting Permissions).
Users with no Forecast permissions but with ‘Edit Report’ access can still add Forecast components to a Report.
Edit Forecast Builder Permission
If a user has forecast editing permissions, they will have access to all functionality of the tool, including creating and editing microforecasts and scenarios. If they have access to reporting, they will be able to edit and add forecast components to reports as usual.
Additional knowledge & common questions